Anchor Change with Katie Harbath
Impossible Tradeoffs with Katie Harbath
Democracy Works: Helping voters navigate the first elections in the generative AI era
0:00
-34:08

Democracy Works: Helping voters navigate the first elections in the generative AI era

In conversation with CEO Luis Lozada
Transcript

No transcript...

We’re back! I didn’t intend to take two full months off from the podcast, but as many of you know, I started a new job in January as the Chief Global Affairs Officer of Duco Experts - a technology consulting firm. It has been overwhelming, in a good way, but it took me a bit to get started again with the podcast.

I’ve got some exciting guests lined up. I figure we’ll do this season through the end of May, and then I’ll re-evaluate for the rest of the year.

To kick things off, I’m excited to have Luis Lozada, the CEO of Democracy Works. You may not have heard of Democracy Works, but you likely have encountered their work. They do the painstaking work of gathering all the information about where, when, and how to vote from the thousands of election officials across the country to put it in a readable format that companies like Google, TikTok, and Anthropic currently use.

I started working with them when I was at Facebook, and we used them to power many of our U.S.-based Election Day reminders. I was invited to join the board while I was at Facebook and have now been a board member for five years.

With the explosion of AI, Democracy Works is now helping companies think through the next generation of people getting election information. Luis and I cover that and more in our conversation.

Enjoy!

PS: If you are looking for the poll by the Bipartisan Policy Center, Integrity Institute and States United that we reference you can find it here.

PS: We’re now on video, too! With Season 2, I’ve launched an Impossible Tradeoffs YouTube channel if you'd like to watch our conversation rather than listen.

0 Comments
Anchor Change with Katie Harbath
Impossible Tradeoffs with Katie Harbath
Technology and democracy are at a crossroads. Technology can potentially empower people and make our democracies more responsive. Or technology can be used to manipulate and divide us. Welcome to Impossible Tradeoffs. I’m Katie Harbath. In this weekly podcast, we’ll talk about and analyze the most fascinating headlines. We’ll make predictions about where things are going. And we’ll talk to experts about the challenges we face and how we might look for solutions.