Anchor Change with Katie Harbath
Impossible Tradeoffs with Katie Harbath
Debrief on the India and EU Elections Online
0:00
-38:32

Debrief on the India and EU Elections Online

Our Summer Spectacular special episodes kick off with a brief look at two recent elections

I’ll admit, I wasn’t expecting to do my first Summer Spectacular episode quite this quickly. However, when Saurabh Shukla with NewsMobile pinged me on WhatsApp to offer to talk about what had happened in the Indian election, I jumped at the chance. I then saw former Integrity Institute resident fellow Alexis Crews post about her work in the EU, and I knew I had to include her as well.

In our conversation, we discuss the role of social media and digital platforms in the elections, the use of AI for misinformation and disinformation, the impact of WhatsApp as a messaging app, and the use of influencers in campaigns. We also talk about the lessons learned from the EU elections and the recommendations for tech companies in mitigating disinformation.

I hope you enjoy!

Anchor Change with Katie Harbath is a reader-supported publication. To receive new posts and support my work, consider becoming a free or paid subscriber.

0 Comments
Anchor Change with Katie Harbath
Impossible Tradeoffs with Katie Harbath
Technology and democracy are at a crossroads. Technology can potentially empower people and make our democracies more responsive. Or technology can be used to manipulate and divide us. Welcome to Impossible Tradeoffs. I’m Katie Harbath. In this weekly podcast, we’ll talk about and analyze the most fascinating headlines. We’ll make predictions about where things are going. And we’ll talk to experts about the challenges we face and how we might look for solutions.