Anchor Change with Katie Harbath
Impossible Tradeoffs with Katie Harbath
Elections in the United Kingdom
0:00
-54:17

Elections in the United Kingdom

Former Facebook public policy Vice President and British Lord Richard Allan and Who Targets Me's Sam Jeffers join to talk about how tech impacts elections in the UK
Transcript

No transcript...

Hi all, we are back after a week break for Thanksgiving with a new episode! This week, I recorded three more interviews, which, along with the ones I already have in the hopper, will take us through December 28th.

After that, I plan on taking a short break - no more than a few weeks - to think about how I can make the podcast better. I’ve enjoyed putting it together and so appreciate my guests and you, the listener. To that end, I’d love your feedback. If you have a few minutes, please share your thoughts on the podcast here.

Ok, on to the show. First, our fun hard tradeoff question:

Loading...

I’ve got two guests this week to talk all things elections and tech in the United Kingdom.

First up is my former colleague and manager at Facebook, Richard Allan. Richard was at the company for over a decade, running the public policy team in Europe and the policy solutions team. He is also a British Lord who spent much time getting the Online Safety Bill passed. Richard also has his own podcast that I highly recommend called Regulate.tech.

Next up is Sam Jeffers with Who Targets Me - an organization dedicated to bringing more transparency to political ads online. They also write a great Substack called

. In fact, they had a piece recently I highly recommend about how this upcoming UK election will be a digital election unlike anything the country has seen.

Enjoy!

Please support the curation and analysis I’m doing with this newsletter. As a paid subscriber, you make it possible for me to bring you in-depth analyses of the most pressing issues in tech and politics.

0 Comments
Anchor Change with Katie Harbath
Impossible Tradeoffs with Katie Harbath
Technology and democracy are at a crossroads. Technology can potentially empower people and make our democracies more responsive. Or technology can be used to manipulate and divide us. Welcome to Impossible Tradeoffs. I’m Katie Harbath. In this weekly podcast, we’ll talk about and analyze the most fascinating headlines. We’ll make predictions about where things are going. And we’ll talk to experts about the challenges we face and how we might look for solutions.